Photograph of English novelist John Fowles.

John Fowles

(1926 - 2005)

After spending “three years of heaven in an intellectual sense” at Oxford University in the late 1940s, during which he read Celtic romances and French existentialists, John Fowles taught at, among other places, Anorgyrios College on the Greek island of Spetsai. He published his first novel, The Collector, in 1963, followed by his aphoristic nonfiction work The Aristos: A Self-Portrait in Ideas in 1964, and his second novel, The Magus, in 1965.

All Writing

Issues Contributed