Image of South Carolina secession leader David Flavel Jamison.

David Flavel Jamison

(1810 - 1864)

David Flavel Jamison addressed the South Carolina Secession Convention on December 17, 1860. Three days later, the 169 delegates unanimously endorsed the statement: “The union now subsisting between South Carolina and other states, under the name ‘the United States of America,’ is hereby dissolved.” The state was the first to secede from the Union, and by the time Abraham Lincoln was sworn in as the sixteenth president on March 4, 1861, six other states had already followed suit.

All Writing

Voices In Time

1860 | Columbia, SC

No Common Bond

South Carolina dissolves the Union.More

Issues Contributed